At its annual dinner in New York on May 11, the Society of American Historians honored historical writing of exceptional literary merit.

The 8th annual Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. Award for distinguished writing in American history of enduring public significance, given jointly with the Roosevelt Institute, was presented to David Levering Lewis.

At the close of the annual dinner on May 11, David Nasaw was succeeded as the Society's president by Jill Lepore, the David Woods Kemper ’41 Professor of American History at Harvard University and a staff writer at The New Yorker. The author and journalist Tony Horwitz assumed the vice presidency.

Elected to the executive board were George Chauncey, Ann Fabian, Annette Gordon-Reed, Jane Kamensky, Fredrik Logevall, and Tiya Miles.

The Society notes with sadness the death on April 22 of Ene Sirvet, who retired in 2013 after 43 years of cheerful and devoted service as our administrative secretary. A memorial gathering  will be held on Wednesday, May 27, 2015, from 3 to 5 pm at the Columbia University Faculty House, 400 West 117th Street, New York, New York.

The 2015 winners of the Arthur M. Schlesinger Award, the Francis Parkman Prize, the James Fenimore Cooper Prize, and the Allan Nevins Prize will be announced at the Society's annual dinner on May 11. Check back later!