How to Submit


The next biennial Historical Fiction Prize competition, for works published in 2021 or 2022, will begin accepting submissions in the summer of 2022, with the prize to be awarded in May 2023. 

The 65th Annual Francis Parkman Prize Honoring Literary Merit in the Writing of American History.

Purpose: To encourage and recognize the writing of history as literature.
Prize: The prize, which includes a check for two thousand dollars, will be awarded at the Society's annual meeting in New York in May.
Eligibility:  The Parkman Prize is awarded annually to a non-fiction book, including biography, that is distinguished by its literary merit and that makes an important contribution to the history of what is now the United States. The author need not be a citizen or resident of the United States, and the book need not be published in the United States. Textbooks, edited collections, bibliographies, reference works, and juvenile books are not eligible. The copyright date of the book must be 2021; bound galleys or advanced reader copies are acceptable as submissions.
Submission: There is no fee for participation and no formal entry form is required, but submitters must include their contact information--name, address, phone number, and email--with each book or parcel, or send it to the Society separately by email. Publishers, agents, and authors may submit as many titles as they wish. A copy of each book must be sent by December 1, 2021 to each of the three committee members and to the Society's office as listed below.
Further information: a list of previous Parkman Prize winners can be found here.
Inquiries to the Society: by email.

2022 Parkman Prize Committee:

Prof. Thavolia Glymph
Box 90719, 1356 Campus Drive, 224 Classroom Bldg.
Department of History
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708

Prof. David Kennedy
715 Salvatierra St
Stanford, CA 94305

Prof. Patricia Limerick
752 15th Street
Boulder, CO 80302

Prof. Andie Tucher (ex officio)
Columbia Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027

The 62nd Annual Allan Nevins Dissertation Prize in American History

Purpose: To honor dissertations for literary distinction and for making a significant contribution to historical knowledge.
Prize: The prize, which includes a check for two thousand dollars and publication by one of our publisher members, will be awarded at the annual meeting of the society in New York in May.
Eligibility: The society defines history broadly and welcomes manuscripts on American arts, literature, and science, as well as biographical studies of Americans in any walk of life. The dissertation must have been defended or the Ph.D. degree received between January 1, 2021 and December 31, 2021. Dissertations already accepted for publication are not eligible for the Nevins prize.
Submission: Dissertations should be submitted by the chair of the department awarding the degree. Please submit a digital copy only, preferably in PDF form, and provide complete contact information for the author, including a telephone number and an email address that will be valid as of spring 2022. No formal nomination letter is required. No department may submit more than two dissertations.
Deadline:  Dissertations should be submitted no later than December 31, 2021, to the Society by email.
Further information: A list of our publisher members and of previous Nevins Prize winners can be found here. Inquiries may be directed to the Society by email.