Francis Parkman Prize for Special Achievement

The Francis Parkman Prize for Special Achievement is periodically given for scholarly and professional distinction. Since its establishment in 1962, the prize has been awarded five times: first to Allan Nevins for his indefatigable passion for the study, writing, and dissemination of history; the second to Samuel Eliot Morison, preeminent scholar and author on naval history; the third to Alfred A. Knopf, founder of the firm known for its excellence in historical publishing; the fourth to Forrest C. Pogue, director of the Marshall Research Library and Foundation, biographer of George C. Marshall, and teacher and author of twentieth-century diplomatic and military history; the fifth award to Walter Lord in "recognition of a lifetime of articulate dedication to American history," author of such classics as A Night to Remember (1955), Day of Infamy (1957), and The Dawn's Early Light (1972).