Executive Board

Executive Board, 2024-2025

The executive board, whose members and officers are elected by the general membership, is the principal governing body of the society. The board oversees the fulfillment of the purposes of the society in accord with its constitution and bylaws.

The society, a 501(c)(3) organization, operates under a charter of incorporation issued by the State of New York.

Martha A. Sandweiss, president 
Martha Hodes, vice president 
Andrew Lipman, executive secretary 

Administrative Secretary
Theo Cutler

Jonathan Alter
Kai Bird
Geraldine Brooks
Margot Canaday
Mark C. Carnes
William Jelani Cobb
Crystal Feimster
Amanda Foreman
Joanne Freeman
Maria Cristina Garcia
Thavolia Glymph
Elizabeth Hinton
Allyson Hobbs
Madeline Hsu
Peniel Joseph
Lisa Lowe
Malinda Maynor Lowery
Kelly Lytle Hernandez
Natalia Molina
Mae Ngai
Lynn Novick
Jean M. O'Brien
Nell Irvin Painter
Valerie Paley
Vicki Ruiz
Hampton Sides
Christina Snyder
T.J. Stiles
Jean Strouse
Geoffrey Ward
Craig Steven Wilder


Ex-Officio Members: Immediate past presidents
Andrew Delbanco
Annette Gordon-Reed
Philip Deloria