Allan Nevins Prize

The Allan Nevins Prize is awarded annually for the best-written doctoral dissertation on a significant subject in American history. The prizewinning work is published by one of the distinguished houses that support the prize: Basic Books; University of California Press; Cambridge University Press; University of Chicago Press; Columbia University Press; Farrar, Straus and Giroux/Hill and Wang; Harvard University Press; Henry Holt; Alfred A. Knopf; W. W. Norton and Company; University of North Carolina Press; Oxford University Press; Princeton University Press; Random House; Simon and Schuster; and Yale University Press. The prize, which carries an award of $2000, is named in honor of the society's founder.