2023 Executive Officers and New Board Members

We are pleased to announce that on Monday evening, May 15, after the announcement of our 2023 prizes,  Philip Deloria takes office as the Society's president, succeeding Annette Gordon-Reed, and Martha A. Sandweiss assumes office as vice president.

Also assuming office on May 15 are newly elected board members Jonathan Alter, Crystal Feimster, Amanda Foreman, Malinda Lowery, Nell Irvin Painter, and Craig Wilder. Elected to a second term are Geraldine Brooks, Peniel Joseph, Hampton Sides, and Christina Snyder. The Society warmly thanks outgoing board members Kevin Baker, Douglas Blackmon, Douglas Brinkley, Martha Jones, and Dan Okrent for their service. A list of the entire board is available here.