Francis Parkman Prize

Past Winners

2014   Philip Shenon, A Cruel and Shocking Act: The Secret History of the Kennedy Assassination (Henry Holt)

2013   Fredrik Logevall, Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America's Vietnam (Random House)

2012   Richard White, Railroaded (W. W. Norton)

2011   Jefferson Cowie, Stayin' Alive:  The 1970s and the Last Days of the Working Class (The New Press)

2010   Blake Bailey, Cheever:  A Life (Alfred A. Knopf)

2009   Jared Farmer, On Zion's Mount (Harvard University Press)

2008  Jean Edward Smith, FDR (Random House)

2007 J. H. Elliott, Empires of the Atlantic World: Britain and Spain in America, 1492–1830 (Yale University Press)

2006 Megan Marshall, The Peabody Sisters (Houghton Mifflin)

2005 Alan Trachtenberg, Shades of Hiawatha (Hill and Wang)

2004 Suzanne Lebsock, A Murder in Virginia (Norton)

2003 James F. Brooks, Captives and Cousins (University of North Carolina Press and Omohundro Institute)

2002 Louis Menand, The Metaphysical Club (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

2001 Fred Anderson, The Crucible of War (Knopf)

2000 David M. Kennedy, Freedom from Fear (Oxford University Press)

1999 Elliott West, The Contested Plains (University Press of Kansas)

1998 John M. Barry, Rising Tide (Simon and Schuster)

1997 Drew Gilpin Faust, Mothers of Invention (University of North Carolina Press)

1996 Robert D. Richardson, Jr., Emerson (University of California Press)

1995 John Demos, The Unredeemed Captive (Knopf)

1994 David Levering Lewis, W. E. B. DuBois (Henry Holt)

1993 David McCullough, Truman (Simon and Schuster)

1992 Richard White, The Middle Ground (Cambridge University Press)

1991 Paul E. Hoffman, A New Andalucia and a Way to the Orient (Louisiana State)

1990 Geoffrey C. Ward, A First-Class Temperament (HarperCollins)

1989 Eric Foner, Reconstruction (Harper and Row)

1988 Eric Larrabee, Commander in Chief (Harper and Row)

1987 Michael Kammen, A Machine That Would Go Of Itself (Knopf)

1986 Kenneth T. Jackson, Crabgrass Frontier (Oxford University Press)

1985 Joel Williamson, The Crucible of Race (Oxford University Press)

1984 William Cronon, Changes in the Land (Hill and Wang)

1983 John R. Stilgoe, Common Landscape of America (Yale University Press)

1982 William S. McFeely, Grant: A Biography (Norton)

1981 Charles Royster, A Revolutionary People at War (University of North Carolina Press)

1980 Leon F. Litwack, Been in the Storm So Long (Knopf)

1979 R. David Edmunds, The Pottawotamies (Oklahoma University Press)

1978 David McCullough, The Path Between the Seas (Simon and Schuster)

1977 Irving Howe, World of Our Fathers (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich)

1976 Edmund S. Morgan, American Slavery, American Freedom (Norton)

1975 Robert A. Caro, The Power Broker (Knopf)

1974 Robert W. Johannsen, Stephen A. Douglas (Oxford University Press)

1973 Kenneth S. Davis, FDR: The Beckoning of Destiny (Putnam)

1972 Joseph P. Lash, Eleanor and Franklin (Norton)

1971 James MacGregor Burns, Roosevelt: Soldier of Freedom (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich)

1970 Theodore A. Wilson, The First Summit (Houghton Mifflin)

1969 Winthrop D. Jordan, White Over Black (North Carolina University Press)

1968 No award

1967 William H. Goetzmann, Exploration and Empire (Knopf)

1966 Daniel J. Boorstin, The Americans: The National Experience (Random House)

1965 Willie Lee Rose, Rehearsal for Reconstruction (Bobbs-Merrill)

1964 William E. Leuchtenburg, FDR and the New Deal (Harper and Row)

1963 James Thomas Flexner, That Wilder Image (Little, Brown)

1962 Leon Wolff, Little Brown Brother (Doubleday)

1961 Elting E. Morison, Turmoil and Tradition (Houghton Mifflin)

1960 Matthew Josephson, Edison: A Biography (McGraw-Hill)

1959 Ernest Samuels, Henry Adams: The Middle Years (Harvard University Press)

1958 Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr., Crisis of the Old Order (Houghton Mifflin)

1957 George F. Kennan, Russia Leaves the War (Princeton University Press)