James Fenimore Cooper Prize


The James Fenimore Cooper Prize is awarded biennially in odd-numbered years for a book of historical fiction on an American subject that makes a significant contribution to historical understanding, portrays authentically the people and events of the historical past, and displays skills in narrative construction and prose style. The prize is named in honor of the most famous American historical novelist of the nineteenth century.

The 12th Biennial James Fenimore Cooper Prize competition, 2015

Purpose: To honor works of literary fiction that significantly advance the historical imagination. The winner will be chosen for its literary quality and historical scholarship.

Prize: A certificate and two thousand dollars. A certificate will be presented to the publisher. The prize will be awarded at the annual meeting of the society on May 11, 2015.

Eligibility: The copyright date of the book must be either 2013 or 2014.

Submission: There is no fee for participation and no entry forms are required. Publishers, agents, and authors may submit as many titles as they wish but must send one copy of each book to each of the four committee members listed below and include their contact information with each parcel.

Deadline: Submissions must be postmarked by January 31, 2015.  Inquiries: amhistsociety@columbia.edu.

2015 Cooper prize committee:

Junot Diaz
CMS/Writing (14E-303)
2 Ware St
Suite 508
Cambridge MA 02138

Jane Kamensky
107 Washington Ave
Cambridge MA 02140

Nick Lemann
Columbia Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, New York 10027

Ex officio:
Andie Tucher
Columbia Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, New York 10027