Francis Parkman Prize


The Francis Parkman Prize is awarded annually for the best nonfiction work of history on an American theme published the previous year. The award is named for Francis Parkman, whose monumental work, France and England in North America (7 vols., Boston: Little, Brown, 1865–92), was widely praised for its literary elegance as well as its historical importance.

The 58th Annual Francis Parkman Prize Competition, 2015

Purpose: To stimulate the writing of history as literature.

Prize: A certificate and two thousand dollars. A certificate will be presented to the publisher. The prize will be awarded at the society's annual meeting in New York on May 11, 2015.

Eligibility:  The Parkman Prize is awarded annually to a non-fiction book, including biography, that is distinguished by its literary merit and makes an important contribution to the history of what is now the United States. The author need not be a citizen or resident of the United States, and the book need not be published in the United States. Textbooks, edited collections, bibliographies, reference works, and juvenile books are ineligible. The copyright date of the book must be 2014.

Submission: There is no fee for participation. Publishers, editors, and authors may submit as many titles as they wish. A copy of each book must be sent by January 31, 2015 to each of four committee members below.

Inquiries to the Society:  by email:


2015 Parkman committee:

Martha Hodes
Department of History
New York University
53 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012

Jan Lewis
128 Parker Ave.
Maplewood, NJ  07040-1812

Geoffrey C. Ward
290 West End Ave., #17C
New York, NY 10023

Ex officio:
Andie Tucher
Columbia Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027